Mysteries of Faith

Why Do We Contemplate the Mysteries of Faith?

Contemplating the Mysteries in prayer is one way to honor and learn to imitate in life the Mysteries and the Virtues of the life, death, passion, and glory of Jesus and Mary.

Contemplating the mysteries is another way to get closer to the Lord.

The Mysteries are the Sorrowful Mysteries, the Luminous Mysteries, the Glorious Mysteries and the Joyful Mysteries.

The Joyful Mysteries are meditated on Monday and Saturday, Sundays of Advent, and after Epiphany until Lent.

The Sorrowful Mysteries are meditated on Tuesday and Friday, and Sundays during Lent.

The Glorious Mysteries are meditated on Wednesdays and Sunday.

The Luminous Mysteries are meditated on Thursday.

Learn how to contemplate the Mysteries of Faith and Pray the Rosary!


The Five Joyful Mysteries
Monday and Saturday:
1. The Annunciation

2. The Visitation

3. The Birth of Jesus

4. The Presentation

5. Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple

Learn more details about the Joyful Mysteries

The Five Luminous Mysteries
1. Christ's Baptism in the Jordan

2. Christ's Self-Revelation at the Wedding of Cana

3. Christ's Proclamation of the Kingdom of God

4. Christ's Transfiguration

5. Christ's Institution of the Eurcharist

Learn more about the Luminous Mysteries


The Five Sorrowful Mysteries

1. The Agony of the Garden

2. The Scourging at the Pillar

3. The Crowning with Thorns

4. The Carrying of the Cross

5. The Crucifixion

Learn more about the Sorrowful Mysteries

The Five Glorious Mysteries

1. The Resurrection

2. The Ascension

3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit

4. The Assumption

5. The Coronation

Learn more about the Five Glorious Mysteries

Are there benefits to Repetitive Prayer?

Return to Pray with Beads Home Page!